Skip to main content



Frank Hoagland


Senator Frank Hoagland is currently serving his second term in the Ohio Senate, representing the 30th Senate district which includes all of Athens, Belmont, Harrison, Jefferson, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, and Washington counties, as well as portions of Guernsey County. 

A small business owner and retired Navy SEAL, Senator Hoagland brings common sense leadership and an honorable record of public service to Columbus.

Senator Hoagland started serving his country just two weeks after graduating from Buckeye North High School in Jefferson County, where he volunteered for the Navy and quickly signed up for Navy SEAL BUDS training; following in the special forces footsteps of his father who has served as an Army Green Beret.

Senator Hoagland served as a Navy SEAL for nearly 30 years, participating in combat zones including the International War on Terrorism and the War on Drugs in South America. After his last combat deployment in 2011, Senator Hoagland retired and returned to eastern Ohio.

Navy SEAL training prepared him for a life of sacrifice by focusing on the notion that success comes when people put others before themselves. Seeking new opportunities to serve and help protect his community, he founded the small business S.T.A.R.T, where he shares his expertise on emergency situation preparation and emergency response procedures with local school districts, businesses, and law enforcement agencies.

As a state senator, he makes serving his constituents, the state and country his top priority. He looks forward to working on issues important to the people of his district, including jobs and economic development, education, veterans’ affairs and fighting the opiate epidemic in our state.

Senator Hoagland and his high school sweetheart Darla, have made their home in Adena and together they have two grown sons, Josh and Luke and one granddaughter, Ella Rose.

135th General Assembly Committee Assignments:
- Veterans & Public Safety Committee (Chairman)
- Community Revitilazation Committee (Vice- Chair) 
- Insurance Committee
- Transportation Committee